jump to navigation

Well … here we go. November 19, 2009

Posted by schlanghole in Uncategorized.
trackback

Perhaps someones first blog post should be profound. However, that’s too much pressure and instead I think I’ll simply try to explain why I finally decided to get on board and start one.

Reason #1: To record my journey through life.

I think it’s important to grow as a person. I desperately want to evolve. I want to be remembered as a kind and giving person. Someone who left the world a little better place than when I entered it. By writing a blog I hope to document that growth process and use it to recognize turning points in my life and in my character. I’ve tried this before in years past with traditional journals or diaries. I couldn’t tell you where one of them is today. My hope is that through this vehicle I will be able to save and review my progress for years to come.

Reason #2: I have something to say.

I have many interests and want to share them with others. I have strong opinions on most subjects and this will be my vehicle to express them. I love the power of ideas, the power of social communities and the incredible power the web has to distribute those thoughts worldwide. I hope I can stimulate others into meaningful dialog around topics of common interests.

Reason #3: It’s time.

It’s been on my to-do list for a long time. I’ve been hesitant because of the implied time investment and the fact I’ve been known to obsess over new bright shiny objects. My wife, Tanya, is afraid that this added to the other social vehicles I am already addicted to, she’ll never see me again. But it’s time to give it a try. I’ve been encouraged by my friends, peers, company and family to start it up and see how it goes. Maybe it won’t take but I intend to give it a try and hope it’s of value to me and, who knows, maybe you.

Comments»

1. Megan Egbert - November 20, 2009

Congrats Tony! I just joined the blog world as well. A little strange at first, but I think I like it. Really looking forward to reading your entries. :)

schlanghole - November 20, 2009

Thanks friend. I added yours to my list. It’s comforting to know I’m not the only newbie on the block. Hope you’re well!

2. Jay - November 20, 2009

Nice work Tone! Looking forward to reading.

3. Andre Nosalsky - November 20, 2009

sweet, got it added to google reader….

4. Ron Baker - November 23, 2009

Got you added to my favorite list of BLOGS. Looking forward to reading it! Great arena to share thoughts that extend beyond the work realm.


Leave a Reply

